The following IEEE 802.11 standards exist or are in development to support the creation of technologies for wireless local area networking:


802.11a – 54 Mbps standard, 5 GHz signaling (ratified 1999)

802.11b – 11 Mbps standard, 2.4 GHz signaling (1999)

802.11c – operation of bridge connections (moved to 802.1D)

802.11d – worldwide compliance with regulations for use of wireless signal spectrum (2001)

802.11e – Quality of Service (QoS) support (not yet ratified)

802.11F – Inter-Access Point Protocol recommendation for communication between access points to support roaming clients (2003)

802.11g – 54 Mbps standard, 2.4 GHz signaling (2003)

802.11h – enhanced version of 802.11a to support European regulatory requirements (2003)

802.11i – security improvements for the 802.11 family (2004)

802.11j – enhancements to 5 GHz signaling to support Japan regulatory requirements (2004)

802.11k – WLAN system management

802.11l – skipped to avoid confusion with 802.11i

802.11m – maintenance of 802.11 family documentation

802.11n – 100+ Mbps standard improvements over 802.11g (2009)

802.11o – skipped

802.11p – Wireless Access for the Vehicular Environment

802.11q – skipped

802.11r – fast roaming support via Basic Service Set transitions

802.11s – ESS mesh networking for access points

802.11T – Wireless Performance Prediction – recommendation for testing standards and metrics

802.11u – internetworking with 3G / cellular and other forms of external networks

802.11v – wireless network management / device configuration

802.11w – Protected Management Frames security enhancement

802.11x – skipped (generic name for the 802.11 family)

802.11y – Contention Based Protocol for interference avoidance

The Official IEEE 802.11 Working Group Project Timelines page is published by IEEE to indicate the status of each of the networking standards under development.